“Oh Where is My Therapy Brush?”

I have two girls with a lot of hair! A hairbrush in our house is a MUST have! I try to keep them in central locations because if they go missing I go a-wall! That being said, I never thought I would go ballistic when “B’s” therapy brushes go missing. That’s right, I said therapy brushes! We have a lot of brushes to keep track of in this house and as important as I find the hairbrush…for “B,” the therapy brush is 100x’s more essential.

I know many of you are asking yourselves, “What is a therapy brush and what in the world do you do with it?” The therapy brush is a soft bristle surgical brush. See the picture insert of “B’s” therapy brush:

“B’s” Occupational Therapist (OT) recommends a strict sensory diet that consists of brushing her 3-4 times per day. “B’s” brushing schedule is once in the a.m., one in the p.m., after supper, and right before bed.

The brushing program is designed to provide kid’s with sensory difficulties much-needed deep pressure input and helps them self-regulate (filter in or let out the many different types of sensory information). According to “B’s” OT (who’s been servicing kids for over 20 years), brushing is extremely calming for kids with sensory issues. She also says that many of the children she sees, who follow a strict brushing “diet” @ home, show remarkable improvements with emotional meltdowns and overall eating progress.

Does it really work? There isn’t much scientific research out there, but many OT’s and parents of children with sensory difficulties will say it does. I know we’ve seen progress over the last couple of weeks. Her emotions are more in check, and she is asking to try new foods! Last week, she came up to me and asked if she could try a bite of my pecan pie!!! A huge accomplishment for someone who has never tasted pie in her entire 4.5 year old life!

The biggest eye opener for me, came last week. I asked “B” if she could tell me what brushing felt like. She gave me a pretty insightful response:

“When you don’t brush me, my body feels hard and tired. When you brush me, my skin gets soft and wakes up.” That response alone makes me feel like it’s worth it to keep searching for those small therapy brushes around our house 🙂

If anyone would like to read more about the brushing program. Feel free to check out the following link http://www.ot-innovations.com/content/view/55/46/

*Remember the brushing program should be introduced by a trained OT. To do it w/o proper training, could cause extreme discomfort for certain individuals.

About Jessica

I am currently a stay at home mom to my two beautiful girls. B is 7, thoughtful, and has sensory challenges. C is 5, spirited, and keeps me on my toes. Before B, I was a special education teacher. She's taught me more in her 7 years than I learned in my 5.5 years in college and my seven years teaching combined :)
This entry was posted in Sensory Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Oh Where is My Therapy Brush?”

  1. I read your newest post first and had no idea what “brushing” you were talking about but now it makes sense and I’m ready them from the beginning. These are such great posts!

  2. Pingback: Sensory Speak

Leave a Reply

