18+ Years of Parent Homework

My new mantra while I’m entertaining a toddler and a preschooler around the house (Taken from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Lyrics by Larry Morey):

When there’s too much to do
Don’t let it bother you, forget your troubles,
Try to be just like a cheerful chick-a-dee

Despite the villains, Disney movie endings consist of romance, giddy music, dancing, rainbows, and maybe some fireworks. While that can be unrealistic and annoying at times (especially when I’ve watched each Disney princess movie at least five times each), Snow White’s merry little song reminds me to keep things in perspective when I’m having a tough day or even week!

Believe me, I realize how incredibly important it is to keep up with B’s sensory homework. I get that if I don’t stay consistent at home she’s not going to learn how to cope with her sensory challenges. Without B’s therapy visits throughout the week, I’d still be trying to put the pieces together. So, trust me when I say, “I get it!”

What’s incredibly challenging, is how exhausting it can be to provide all of the sensory needs for one child. To complete all of the homework. To follow the protocols. To keep up with the routines. Some examples of our what this week’s sensory homework looks like:

  • Wear compression vest 2 x’s per day for 7-10 min. each time. A compression vest provides kiddos some much-needed deep pressure input, and often helps kids to self-regulate (aka calming herself). It’s usually seen as a much-needed, deep pressure hug. It reminds me of a wet suit. Here’s a pic of a B’s borrowed vest:


 
 
 
 

  • Jump into her crash cushion 10x’s per day. Another picture for your viewing pleasure 🙂


 
 
 
 

  • Retreat into her pillow cave at various times throughout the day. This is also known as her crash cushion. Instead of jumping into it, she climbs inside of it w/ 20+ pillows and some egg crate foam for a much-needed sensory retreat (Notice she’s inside the cave in this pic).


 
 
 
 

  • Listening therapy CD every morning at breakfast for 20-30 min. Here’s a website that describes the program very well http://www.sensorysystemsclinic.com/Therapeutic%20Listening%20Program.htm We are using it to decrease B’s sensitivity to sound and help improve her sensory defensiveness among other things.
  • Balance on her ladybug or roll around the room with her ladybug cushion.


 
 
 
 

  • Jump on the trampoline randomly throughout the day.
  • Engage in food school protocol at every meal (In other words, we are constantly playing and talking about our food at each meal).

To add to the daily craziness, this is all in addition to driving to/from 4K, therapy appointments twice a week, keeping up with playdates, visiting family and friends, and keeping up with the bedtime routine. Notice cleaning was not part of the list. *Insert Snow White song here*

What’s awesome is when we do keep up with her homework, we see progress. We see a much more calm and centered B. She’s laughs more often and enjoys the random surprises each day might bring. That’s why as crazy as each day can get and as frustrating it can be to remember all of it, I’m determined to keep doing the homework. So, if I’m out and about and you happen to hear me whistling it might be because we’ve been extremely busy at home that particular week, and I’m just absorbed in my own personal homework (I mean mantra)  😉

About Jessica

I am currently a stay at home mom to my two beautiful girls. B is 7, thoughtful, and has sensory challenges. C is 5, spirited, and keeps me on my toes. Before B, I was a special education teacher. She's taught me more in her 7 years than I learned in my 5.5 years in college and my seven years teaching combined :)
This entry was posted in Sensory Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 18+ Years of Parent Homework

  1. Donna Ley says:

    Like everything in life the more effort you put into something the better the results. Thank God for you and Kevin that you are willing to do whatever it takes to make things better for “B” and it does show! This was once again a very informative and enlightening blog!

Leave a Reply

