A Sensational Day!

As B gets older I find myself watching her grow, change, and become more independent. She has an impressive imagination. I love listening to her tell me about her dreams every morning. I can only assume while she’s taking a minute to “remember” exactly what it is she dreamed about that she’s thinking up some impressive story and changes the details as she goes along 🙂 She asserting her sense of independence. She can buckle her own car seat (Don’t worry. I always double-check it.). She can brush her own teeth and even put the toothpaste on the toothbrush (Something she hadn’t mastered until recently.)! Today she even wrote her name for the first time without any physical assistance or verbal reminders.

While it make me *sniff* just a tad to see she’s growing up, it also is somewhat of a relief knowing that she’s going to be so ready for Kindergarten this fall! I remember worrying and fretting over all the things I thought would hold her back. Little did I know, I was really the one holding her back. I was the one going over all of the limitations/situations that might affect her future. That might overwhelm her sensory system.

I need to give her more credit. She’s an amazing kid who loves to please and is eager to learn. She enjoys her sensory exercises. She loves going to food school. She cannot wait to spend time with her Occupational Therapist every Thursday. She’s working hard to read her bodies cues and vocalize her needs when she recognizes them. Her hard work is definitely paying off. Remember how my last post https://sensoryspeak.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/sweet-sucesses/ mentioned the slow, baby steps she takes each and every day to help her body meet its sensory needs?

Today was it. Today was a SENSATIONAL day in regards to one of her biggest challenges. New foods. I’m seriously going to mark this day on the calendar. Simply so we remember that all of these baby steps lead somewhere 🙂

B had food school this afternoon. Before we started, she went and jumped on the therapists trampoline and swung in her teardrop swing (http://www.amazon.com/Ekorre-Swing-hanging-hammock-outdoor/dp/B002XPNMFU). This totally prepped her body and woke up her sensory system. B had her best day of food school EVER! She took a bite of every single food (can you tell I’m excited)!!!! Keep in mind though, she’s allowed to spit food out (This helps prep her sensory system for actual chewing and swallowing when her body is ready.), but she managed to eat a Danish pancake (only eats homemade pancakes)…just in case you have NO idea what a Danish pancake is (I didn’t either): http://danishpancakes.com/. She bit and spit a blueberry waffle, a hash brown patty, fresh blueberries and took a sip of blueberry pomegranate Gatorade!!! She was in such a good mood throughout the entire session too!

Not only was she sensational in food school today, but this afternoon she tried a dry cherry and loved it! Tonight she bit a salted almond, ate a frozen orange juice ring pop, and tasted my peanut butter and banana ice cream pop! I could seriously cry I’m so ecstatic! Those of you who have followed us over the entire 5 years of our journey and the last 13 months of our OT/Food school journey know how monumental this is for B 😀

We will continue to work on her sensory diet at home in hopes that she will have more SENSATIONAL days like today! Oh, and for those of you who have followed and continue to follow our journey THANK YOU. It means so much to have you in our corner 🙂

About Jessica

I am currently a stay at home mom to my two beautiful girls. B is 7, thoughtful, and has sensory challenges. C is 5, spirited, and keeps me on my toes. Before B, I was a special education teacher. She's taught me more in her 7 years than I learned in my 5.5 years in college and my seven years teaching combined :)
This entry was posted in Feeding Difficulties, Sensory Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sensational Day!

  1. erin says:

    so happy to hear your progress with B 🙂 Life has its ups and downs, but its these kind of ups that make it all worth it 🙂

  2. sybilk says:

    It is such a privilege to read about your journey. I have nominated you for an award on my blog (http://peaceitalltogether.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

